Museum of Transport, Greater ManchesterMuseum of Transport, Greater Manchester  


Districts of Greater Manchester



This is the Metropolitan County of Greater Manchester, created in 1974.


Click on a district below to find out more:




Metropolitan Borough of Bolton Metropolitan Borough of Bury Metropolitan Borough of Rochdale Oldham Metropolitan Borough Tameside Metropolitan Borough Stockport Metropolitan Borough City of Manchester Trafford Metropolitan Borough City of Salford Wigan Metropolitan Borough



The county was once administered by the Greater Manchester County Council, or GMC (Greater Manchester Council) as it was known. The Greater Manchester Council was abolished in 1986, with the Metropolitan Districts assuming most of the strategic powers which had previously been administered at county level.


In order to provide continuity and maintain a strategic approach, several services were maintained at county level by the creation of Joint Boards and the Association of Greater Manchester Authorities which maintains the Greater Manchester County Records Office and Greater Manchester Urban Traffic Control. Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Authority was the Joint Board established to succeed the Transport Committee of the GMC.

Site Map - Contact Us - Search - Links - GMPTE

Greater Manchester Transport Society

Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalValid CSS